CD Berlioz: Symphonie Fantastique, Lelio, Muti/Depardieu/CSO & Chorus

Add to cart
Discs 2
Record Label CSO Resound
Release Date 2015
Recording Year 2010

“The vivid, evocative and beautifully detailed performance the maestro elicited from his platoons of performers— including narrator, soloists and full Chorus, in magnificent voice—drew a thunderous ovation from the packed auditorium.” (Chicago Tribune)

“… to hear this pairing of works as Berlioz intended was fascinating.” (New York Times)

Recorded in 2010 during Riccardo Muti’s first subscription concerts as the Chicago Symphony Orchestra’s tenth music director, this double-CD release pairs Hector Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique with its sequel, Lélio, ou le retour de la vie (Lélio, or The Return to Life). Berlioz intended Symphonie fantastique to be followed by Lélio in concert, as the artist returns to life to comment anew on music and art.

Maestro Muti and the CSO are joined in Lélio by acclaimed actor Gérard Depardieu as the narrator, tenor Mario Zeffiri, bass-baritone Kyle Ketelsen, and the Chicago Symphony Chorus.

Track Listing:

Disc 1: Hector Berlioz, Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14

1. Rêveries - Passions
2. Un bal
3. Scène aux champs
4. Marche au supplice
5. Songe d’une nuit du sabbat

Disc 2: Hector Berlioz, Lélio, ou le retour à la vie, Op. 14b

1. Narration
2. Le pêcheur
3. Narration
4. Choeur d’ombres
5. Narration
6. Chanson des brigands
7. Narration
8. Chant de bonheur
9. Narration
10. La harpe éolienne - Souvenirs
11. Narration
12. Fantaisie sur “La Tempete” de Shakespeare
13. Narration
14. Coda

Gérard Depardieu (narrator)
Mario Zeffiri (tenor)
Kyle Ketelsen (bass-baritone)
Chicago Symphony Chorus, Duain Wolfe (director)

Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Riccardo Muti (conductor)