CD Handel: Messiah, Arias & Choruses, Solti/CSO&C

Article code 002279
Add to cart
Discs 1
Record Label London
Release Date 1990
Recording Year 1984

Track Listing:

George Frideric Handel, Messiah

  1. Accompagnato: Comfort ye, My people
  2. Air: Ev'ry Valley shall be exalted
  3. Chorus: And the glory of the Lord
  4. Chorus: "For unto us a Child is born"
  5. "And suddenly there was...Glory to God in the highest"
  6. "Rejoice greatly, o daughter of Zion"
  7. Duet: "He shall feed his flock" (18a)
  8. Chorus: "Behold the Lamb of God" (20)
  9. Chorus: "Lift up your heads" (31)
  10. Air: "How beautiful are the feet" (36)
  11. Air: "Why do the nations..." Air: "Thou shalt break with them..."
  12. Chorus: "Hallelujah" (42)
  13. "I Know That My Redeemer Liveth"
  14. "Behold, I tell you... The Trumpet shall sound"
  15. "Worthy is the Lamb - Blessing and honour" (51)

Kiri Te Kanawa (soprano)
Anne Gjevang (contralto)
Keith Lewis (tenor)
Gwynne Howell (bass)

Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Sir Georg Solti (conductor)
Chicago Symphony Chorus, Margaret Hillis (director)